Cooperating Partners


MEFMI’s cooperating partners fall into three categories namely, Financial Cooperating Partners, Technical Cooperating Partners and Networking Partners.

Financial Cooperating Partners currently fund MEFMI’s capacity building activities to supplement member countries’ contributions.  The Financial Cooperating Partners are:
•    Norway
•    Sweden
•    The African Capacity Building Foundation (ACBF)

Technical Cooperating Partners provide gratis or subsidised expertise, attachments and course attendance to staff and Fellows and other in-kind support to the capacity building programmes. The technical cooperating partners are;
•The World Bank (WB) and its institute (WBI), the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and its institute (IMFI), the Commonwealth Secretariat (COMSEC)

•The Bank for International Settlements (BIS) and its Affiliate Committees, the African Development Bank (AfDB),  the Centre for Central Banking Studies (CCBS) of the Bank of England Bank (BOE)

•The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), the Federal Reserves Bank of New York and the Federal Reserve Board, Financial Stability Institute (FSI), Africa Regional Technical Assistance Centre (AFRITAC)

In addition, some of the major international commercial banks such as the Bank of New York, State Street Global Advisors, Barclays Bank plc, the Standard Bank of South Africa, Bank of India and Reserve Bank of South Africa, have provided gratis expertise.

Networking Partners are organisations whose resource persons and other services are paid for by MEFMI.  They include the African Economic Research Consortium (AERC), Centre for International Development (CID) at Harvard University, Crown Agents, Debt Relief International (DRI),United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR) and National Treasury of South Africa.